Rose receives Y Prize from Ohio Farm Bureau Basis

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Ashley Rose, group director for Clinton, Fayette, Greene and Warren County Farm Bureaus, is the recipient of the 2022 Yvonne Lesicko Perseverance Prize. Often known as the Y Prize, the award is introduced by the Ohio Farm Bureau Basis and acknowledges people for his or her revolutionary work on farmer psychological wellness initiatives.

The Y Prize was created final 12 months via the Yvonne Lesicko Memorial Fund, which was began in 2020 to honor Yvonne Lesicko, former vp of public coverage for Ohio Farm Bureau. The fund, throughout the Ohio Farm Bureau Basis, was established to help the causes and initiatives that had been essential to Lesicko.

“It’s such an honor to be considered for this award, particularly as a result of Yvonne was such an unbelievable individual in our group,” Rose stated. “Principally I’m hoping that by bringing consciousness of this award, it can actually encourage individuals to be courageous. I need individuals to be courageous sufficient to go search assist and know that in the event that they’re utilizing psychological well being companies, it’s not as a result of they’re damaged or they’re incapable. It’s as a result of they need to be the very best that they are often.”

After a devastating, rain-soaked planting season in 2019, Rose started getting calls from members dealing with main stress components that include the challenges of farming. She realized that whereas she may very well be a supportive listener, she didn’t have the experience or instruments to be as efficient as she wished to be. Along with her supervisor’s blessing, she and others took a psychological well being first assist coaching course, which proved to be helpful however not sufficient.

After researching the very best, most accessible avenues for farmers to comfortably obtain the assistance they wanted, three of Rose’s 4 county Farm Bureau boards selected BetterHelp teletherapy to supply as a profit for his or her members.

“We actually wished to present our members a tangible profit that might actually result in a long-lasting influence,” she stated.

A part of the award’s objective is to minimize the stigma surrounding psychological well being points. Because the 2022 Y Prize award winner, Rose shall be given a platform via Ohio Farm Bureau to share her work and the efforts of the county Farm Bureaus she represents. As such, Rose shall be a presenter on the 2023 Younger Agricultural Professionals Winter Management Expertise.

To contribute to the Yvonne Lesicko Memorial Fund, go to the Ohio Farm Bureau Basis web site at

The Ohio Farm Bureau Basis, a 501(c) (3) charitable, nonprofit group, understands the necessity to encourage innovation and domesticate funding in Ohio’s farm and meals neighborhood. Be taught extra by visiting

Yvonne Lesicko’s siblings introduced the Y Prize to Ashley Rose, the group director for Clinton, Fayette, Greene and Warren County Farm Bureaus. Pictured from left: Annette Houck, Janene Kehl, Lawrence Houck, and Rose.

Native group director acknowledged for psychological wellness efforts


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *